txmandy

just little insights to me and my world

Perceptions

on 05/17/2011

20110517-021422.jpg

We’ve all heard the many sayings about looking at the bright side of things, every cloud has it’s silver lining, looking at the glass half full etc etc.
The list of positive sayings is endless but I think you get where I’m going with this..happiness is what you make. It’s a journey not a destination(see another one!) Anyways, in life it’s not always happy go lucky, perfect, everything is coming up roses but how one mentally accepts and processes the situation is up to the individual.
The other day I read something on a friend’s Facebook status and even though it’s pretty much means all the sayings from the beginning of this writing it really sank in and hit me like a slap in the face.
” I may not be in total control of what happens to my life, but I am certainly in charge of how I choose to perceive my experience.” ~ Jill Bolte Taylor
I read this and to be honest it was perfect timing. Some of you close to me know that I have been struggling with infertility and repeated miscarriages. It’s not easy.. Actually it’s extremely hard and I don’t wish it on anyone. I know it’s common and I’m not the only one who has ever experienced it but still the same.. It sucks. At the same time so are other life experiences.. Divorce, job losses, dating etc. Whatever your life circumstance is YOU choose how to perceive it and handle it. I CHOOSE to be positive about the whole situation because in all reality being negative and wallowing my sorrow really isn’t going to get me anywhere. Now don’t take my happiness as I don’t care-I have cried many many times(and at times still do) it’s hard seeing so many people around me having something I want/can’t have BUT I don’t and can’t let it get me down… I have to much to be happy about! So.. Whatever lemons life throws at you “make lemonade..but don’t forget the vodka!”

3 responses to “Perceptions

  1. First of all, you write very well. Second, I agree 100%. Life will always throw you lemons, so you better have the vodka at the ready. There’s no getting around life issues/problems. Choose to be happy or choose to be miserable. And we both know that being miserable takes a lot more work.

    • txmandy says:

      Thank you! I’m not schooled in it I just do it as a form of therapy I guess! And you know I always have Vodka chilled and ready!:)

  2. Lisa says:

    Very well said, Mandy! I think we all need to be reminded of this every so often. I know I get stuck in my own problems and forget to take a breath and look around.

    As far as your blogging, when I was a teenager I used to keep a journal and it totally got me thru some pretty rough stuff (by teenager standards, anyway). You are doing a great job! Keep it up. I am enjoying reading it. 😀

Leave a Reply

